Check In Date Nights    Adults Children

Alto Douro Wine Region (see video)

In December 14th, 2001, UNESCO designates the Alto Douro Wine Region (45 ° 68 'N, 5 ° 93' W) World Heritage of Humanity in the category of cultural landscape, this statute was the culmination of an application process outlined by the King D. Afonso Henriques Foundation.

Douro vineyards

Alto Douro Wine Region became the 13th district of the country and the 5th ranked member of the wine producers group, joining the regions of Val de Loire and Saint-Emilion (France), Cinque Terre (Italy) and Wachau (Austria).

Alto Douros area has 24 600 hectares, spread over 13 municipal regions: Mesão Frio, Peso da Régua, Santa Marta de Penaguião, Vila Real, Alijó, Sabrosa, Carrazeda de Ansiães, Torre de Moncorvo, Lamego, Armamar, Tabuaço, S. João da Pesqueira and Vila Nova de Foz Coa, these regions are ten percent of the  Demarcated Douro Region.

Port wine

It is a tribute to the jointed work of Man and Nature, which is to illustrate the universal value of the active role played by a unique landscape and a culture of excellence.

Notwithstanding the magic the landscape extols, it?s the land that fathers the famous and so appreciated Port Wine.

However it was the beauty of the scenery made of uphill terraces and vineyards, the added value that led UNESCO to approve its entry into the elite of World Heritage

Enjoy the Douro Wines